The American Society of Clinical Psychopharmacology (ASCP) presents the Donald Klein Lifetime Achievement Award to a recipient who has made an outstanding contribution to the Clinical Psychopharmacology field.

Dr. Klein is the epitome of clinical psychopharmacology from his earliest days as a psychiatrist with the advent of modern psychopharmacology in the 1960’s.  His clinical acumen and observation led to a clarity on the fundamentals of clinical psychopharmacology in the early 1960’s that the so-called major tranquilizers were not really tranquilizers and didn’t help anxious patients, but rather the patients with a psychotic illness.

He went on to define and provide not only phenomenology but also the pathophysiology and clinical management of the loosely defined anxiety disorders.  His classic paper of 1974 describing endogenomorphic depression has helped develop the major concepts behind the modern understanding of clinical depression.  During the 1980s, Dr. Klein and his group led the clinical psychopharmacology research in defining the nature of clinical trials that still are relevant today.

In short, Dr. Klein brought rational and pragmatic approach to modern clinical psychopharmacology and the concepts behind major mood disorders.  Thus, he provides an excellent model for the trainees and practitioners of psychopharmacological practice.

The award consists of a $1,000 stipend and an opportunity to present at the 2024 ASCP Annual Meeting (formerly NCDEU) May 28 – May 31, 2024 in Miami Beach, FL. The award winner must attend the 2024 ASCP Annual Meeting. The candidate should be a leader in the field above the age of 70 or have achieved an academic “emeritus” rank.

Submissions for 2024 Donald Klein Lifetime Achievement Award are now open.

Deadline to submit is January 29, 2024.


  • 2023: Dennis S. Charney, M.D., Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • 2022: Charles Reynolds, M.D., University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Western Psychiatric Institute & Clinic
  • 2020/2021: Ellen Frank, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
  • 2019: Alan Schatzberg, M.D., Stanford University School of Medicine
  • 2018: Phil Skolnick, Ph.D., Opiant Pharmaceuticals
  • 2017: David Kupfer, M.D., University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine/Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
  • 2016: John Davis, M.D., University of Illinois at Chicago Psychiatric Institute
  • 2015: Nina Schooler, Ph.D., SUNY Downstate Medical Center
  • 2014: Augustus (John) Rush, M.D., National University of Singapore